Ima Hogg Scholarships

Scholarship Summary

Texas faces a critical mental health workforce shortage, ranking far below the national average in the number of mental health professionals per 100,000 residents. In 2009, 173 counties in Texas were designated as mental health profession shortage areas, and 40 Texas counties did not have a single social worker, according to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The problem is likely to worsen in the future.

The scholarship program was created in 1956 at the request of founder Miss Ima Hogg to address the need for more trained social workers to provide quality mental health services in Texas. The foundation will award one-year scholarships of $5,000 each to fourteen talented and dedicated graduate social work students in Texas. Each accredited or awaiting accreditation graduate school of social work is invited to recommend one student to receive an Ima Hogg Scholarship. Applicants must be entering the second year of studies or a one-year accelerated program in an accredited graduate social work program in Texas and must be nominated by the head of their program. Students should contact their graduate program’s office for more information.


Applicants must:

  • Be pursuing a master’s degree in Social Work (MSW or MSSW) at one of 14 Texas graduate programs that are accredited or pending accreditation by the Council on Social Work Education.
  • Be recommended for the scholarship by the dean or director of the graduate social work program.
  • Have completed (or be about to complete) their first year of graduate studies in social work and be prepared to enter their second year in the program in the fall semester. Students who have been admitted to a one-year advanced standing program beginning in the fall also are eligible.
  • Demonstrate a commitment to pursuing a career in providing mental health services to underserved/underrepresented individuals and their communities in Texas upon obtaining their master’s degree.
  • Self-identify the need to receive this award. The need or financial hardship should be addressed in the student’s personal statement.


School nominations: contact your school’s dean or director
General information: contact Program Officer Stephany Bryan: (512)


Current Recipients

The 2015 Ima Hogg Scholarship recipients are:

  • Erika Alcala, University of Texas at El Paso
  • Catherine Baeza, University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Halie Domingue, University of Houston
  • Irene Fuentes, Abilene Christian University
  • John Garcia, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Jammie Kelly, Texas A&M Commerce
  • Dharti Patel, Stephen F. Austin State University
  • Shana Rubenstein, University of Texas at Austin
  • Samantha Sada, Our Lady of the Lake University
  • Hector Ventura, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Amy Williams, Texas State University
  • Desire Winslow, West Texas A&M University

For more on the awards, see the press release.

Subscribe to Hogg News and MHDaily

Get Your Daily Dose

Subscribe to receive a daily or weekly digest of mental health news directly in your inbox.