AUSTIN, Texas – The Hogg Foundation is pleased to announce the 2013 recipients of the Ima Hogg Scholarship award, an annual scholarship of $5,000 to support graduate social work students in Texas. Established in 1956 to address the need for more trained social workers who can deliver quality mental health services for Texans, the scholarships are given to second year graduate students who demonstrate a commitment to mental health care in Texas.

Even as mental health funding was substantially increased in the last legislative session, the need for skilled advanced-level clinicians in the workforce remains critical. Nominated by the heads of their social work programs, these eight graduate students were chosen for the promise they show as future mental health professionals in Texas.

“These scholarships for graduate students are an essential step in making access to mental health a priority and reducing shortages in Texas’ mental health workforce,” said Dr. Octavio N. Martinez, Jr., executive director of the Hogg Foundation. “The consequences of not addressing this critical shortage will cost Texas economically and result in poorer health outcomes statewide.”

The 2013 recipients are:

  •        Stephanie Cutler, University of Texas at Austin 
  •       Laura Garcia, University of Texas –Pan American
  •       Alva Gomez, University of Texas at Arlington 
  •       Linda Gonzalez, Stephen F. Austin State University 
  •       Kimberly Harlan, University of Texas at San Antonio
  •        Jessica Narvaez Gonzalez, University of Houston
  •        Kelsey Shunk, Baylor University
  •        Kristen Whitenight, Texas State University

The Hogg Foundation advances recovery and wellness in Texas by funding mental health services, policy analysis, research and public education. The foundation was created in 1940 by the children of former Texas Gov. James S. Hogg and is part of the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement at The University of Texas at Austin.