Harry E. and Bernice M. Moore Fellowship

Requests for proposals are currently being accepted for the 2024 Harry L. and Bernice M. Moore Fellowships.

The Moore Fellowship was established in 1995 by the estate of Bernice Moore in memory of her husband, Dr. Harry Estill Moore, a professor and sociologist at The University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin). Moore specialized in disaster studies, including tornadoes and hurricanes that affected the state of Texas.

Doctoral students at UT Austin who are in the process of completing a dissertation relevant to the mental health needs of Texans are invited to submit a proposal. To be eligible for the fellowship, candidates must also demonstrate a primary research interest of the human experience in crises, including those resulting from natural or other major disasters or, more broadly, stress and adversity.

The selected fellow receives a one-time, unrestricted award of $20,000. Upon completion of the dissertation, the fellow must submit a copy of the dissertation with an abstract or summary. There are no restrictions on other awards or employment that the fellow may obtain, and the fellow is not required to work as a condition of the award.

Eligibility and Application

Doctoral candidates in nursing, psychiatry, psychology, social work, sociology and other fields relevant to mental health at The University of Texas at Austin may apply.

The applicant’s dissertation proposal must have been successfully defended by the time of application submission. Dissertations may be quantitative or qualitative in design. Applicants must have a strong research background with a primary interest in the human experience in crises, including those resulting from natural or other major disasters or, more broadly, stress and adversity.


Application Submission and Selection

Stay informed: Sign up to receive emails about funding opportunities, award announcements and more.

Applications: Three signed letters of reference must be emailed to hogg-grants@austin.utexas.edu (attn: Moore Fellowship Committee). All other application materials must be submitted through Fluxx, the foundation’s online grant portal.

When applying online through Fluxx, applicants will be prompted to enter their contact information, as well as the names and email addresses of three individuals providing letters of reference (one of which must be the applicant’s dissertation committee chair or advisor). Applicants should also upload the following:

  • Cover letter, which must include an explanation of the dissertation’s fit with the fellowship’s focus on the human experience in crises (no page limit)
  • Summary of the dissertation’s rationale, research questions and methods (maximum 10 double-spaced pages, 12-point font)
  • Current curriculum vitae (no page limit)
  • Timeline for dissertation completion (use template provided)

Selection criteria: Foundation staff will use a rating instrument to evaluate the merits of the proposals and select the fellow. The foundation may partner with an external reviewer to evaluate the proposals.

Factors used to evaluate proposals include:

  • The fit between the dissertation project and the fellowship’s focus on the human experience in crisis.
  • Demonstration of respondent’s strong research background with a primary interest in the mental health aspect of crises, stress and adversity.
  • Compelling case made for the research significance to the field of mental health. If research is being conducted outside of Texas, respondent should explain the significance to the people of Texas.
  • Amount of time remaining to complete the dissertation is reasonably in line with the fellowship period.

Preference is given to research:

  • That focuses on natural, major or other disasters.
  • That includes the participation of recipients of mental health services and their families in designing and implementing the project.
  • With important implications for underserved communities in the area of mental health.

Questions: Contact hogg-grants@austin.utexas.edu.

Recent Recipients  

2010-2019 Recipients

2019 – Abby Pauline Bailin
“Promoting Positive Parenting for Families in Primary Care: Program Development and a Pilot Randomized Controlled Trial”

2019 – Santiago Papini
“Data-driven prediction of the emrgence of and recovery from post-traumatic stress disorder”

2017 – Hannah S. Szlyk
“The Role of School Environment and Life Stressors in Youth Suicidality” 

2016 – Karin Wachter
“Forgotten Resources: A Multi Method Analysis of Refugee Women’s Social Support in the United States”

2016 – Benita A. Bamgbade
“The Impact of a Psychoeducational Intervention on the Attitudes and Mental Health Care Seeking Behaviors Among African Americans”

2015 – Shannon Johnson
“A Sequential Exploratory Mixed Methods Study of Post-Homicide Spiritual Change.”

2014 – Courtney Valentine
“The Impact of Post-Traumatic Stress Symptoms and Protective Factors on Transition Factors for Youth Investigated for Maltreatment During Adolescence.”

2013 – David Glisch Sanchez
“Listen to What Your joteria is saying: Pain, Social Harm, and Queer Latinas.”

2012 – David Scheinfeld
“From Battlegrounds to the Backcountry: the Intersection of Masculinity and Outward Bound Programming on Psychosocial functioning for Male Military Veterans”

2012 – Mary Esther Sullivan
“Halfway homeowners : geospatial and ethnographic analysis of eviction in mobile home parks” 

2011 – Christopher Ulack
“Starting from Below Zero: Iraqi Refugee Resettlement and Integration in the United States and Austin, Texas.”

2011 – Christopher Johnson
“STAND with Dignity, a Grassroots Housing Organization in New Orleans, Louisiana, and their Quest to Construct Autonomous Black Spaces in the Context of a Post-Katrina New Orleans.”

2010 – Meredith Rountree
“The Things that Death will Buy: A Sociolegal Examination of Texas Death-Sentenced Prisoners who Sought Execution.”

1990-1999 Recipients

1996 – Carter H. Hay
“Parental Authority and Delinquency.”