Ima Hogg Scholarships

Applications are accepted March through May on an annual basis.

Texas faces a critical mental health workforce shortage, ranking far below the national average in the number of mental health professionals per 100,000 residents. In 2015, 185 Texas counties out of 254 did not have a single psychiatrist, which left more than three million Texans without access to a psychiatrist. Worse, 40 counties didn’t even have a licensed clinical social worker. The problem is likely to worsen in the future.

The Ima Hogg Scholarships, established in 1956, are one of the ways that the foundation works to create positive impact on mental health services in Texas. The scholarship program was created at the request of founder Miss Ima Hogg to address the need for more trained social workers to provide quality mental health services in Texas. Recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement and their commitment to providing mental health services after graduation.

Each year, the foundation awards scholarships of $5,000 each to graduate students of accredited social work programs in Texas. Applicants must be entering their second year of study in a graduate social work program, or a one-year accelerated program, in Texas that is accredited or awaiting accreditation. All applicants must be nominated by the head of their program. Student-submitted applications are not accepted.

For more information, students must contact their graduate program’s office. Each accredited graduate school of social work is invited to recommend only one student to receive an Ima Hogg Scholarship.


Applicants must:

  • Be pursuing a master’s degree in Social Work (MSW or MSSW) at one of 17 Texas graduate programs that are accredited or pending accreditation by the Council on Social Work Education.
  • Be recommended for the scholarship by the dean or director of the graduate social work program.
  • Have completed (or be about to complete) their first year of graduate studies in social work and be prepared to enter their second year in the program in the fall semester. Students who have been admitted to a one-year advanced standing program beginning in the fall also are eligible.
  • Demonstrate a commitment to pursuing a career in providing mental health services to underserved or underrepresented individuals and their communities in Texas upon obtaining their master’s degree.
  • Self-identify the need to receive this award. The need or financial hardship should be addressed in the student’s personal statement.
Recent Recipients

The 2018 recipients are:

  • Tess Cain, Texas A&M Kingsville
  • Genesis Guillen, The University of Texas at San Antonio
  • Cynthia Jimenez, The University of Texas at El Paso
  • Matquita Johnson, Stephen F. Austin State University
  • Lesley Miller, University of Houston
  • Jennifer Potter, West Texas A&M University
  • Mandy Rama, Texas State University
  • Nietta Reynolds, Texas A&M Commerce
  • Emily Sabado, Texas Christian University
  • Bianca Smith, Baylor University
  • Carly Snyder, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Erika Villarreal, The University of Texas Rio Grand Valley
  • Lauren Vines, Tarleton State University

Learn More


Stephany Bryan, Program Officer and Consumer & Family Liaison

Nominations: All applicants must be nominated by the head of their program. Student-submitted applications are not accepted. Students must contact their graduate program’s office for more information.

Applications: All applications must be submitted by the recommending university through Fluxx, the foundation’s online grant portal.