Graduate Students Fellowships and Scholarships

The Hogg Foundation for Mental Health offers graduate-level scholarships and fellowships to encourage and support research and study in the field of mental health. See below for information about the application process, time frame and eligibility requirements for each award.

Harry E. and Bernice M. Moore Fellowship for Doctoral Research

A one-time fellowship of $20,000 is awarded annually to doctoral students at The University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin) who are completing a dissertation on the human experience in crises, including those resulting from natural or other major disasters or, more broadly, stress and adversity. The Moore Fellowship was established in 1995 by the estate of Bernice Moore in memory of her husband, Dr. Harry Estill Moore, a professor and sociologist at The University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin). Moore specialized in disaster studies, including tornadoes and hurricanes that affected the state of Texas.

Doctoral students at UT Austin who are in the process of completing a dissertation relevant to the mental health needs of Texans are invited to submit a proposal. To be eligible for the fellowship, candidates must also demonstrate a primary research interest of the human experience in crises, including those resulting from natural or other major disasters or, more broadly, stress and adversity.

Learn more

Frances Fowler Wallace Memorial for Mental Health Dissertation Award

The Francis Fowler Wallace Awards provide up to $1,500 to support dissertation research expenses of doctoral students. Frances Fowler Wallace, wife of former Texas state Rep. John Forsythe Wallace, created the scholarship in her will in 1974 to support research and study of “the cause, treatment, cure, and prevention of mental disease, mental illness, and mental disorders.”

Doctoral candidates in nursing, psychology, social work, sociology and other fields relevant to mental health programs at institutions of higher education in Texas are eligible to apply.

Learn more

Ima Hogg Scholarships in Mental Health

The Ima Hogg Scholarships, established in 1956, are one of the ways that the foundation works to create positive impact on mental health services in Texas. Each year, the foundation awards 17 scholarships of $5,000 each to graduate students of accredited social work programs in Texas. The scholarship program was created at the request of founder Miss Ima Hogg to address the need for more trained social workers to provide quality mental health services in Texas. Recipients are selected on the basis of academic achievement and their commitment to providing mental health services after graduation.

Applicants must be entering their second year of study in a graduate social work program, or a one-year accelerated program, in Texas that is accredited or awaiting accreditation. All applicants must be nominated by the head of their program. Student-submitted applications are not accepted.

Learn more

Get news and resources delivered to your inbox!